Christmyrighteousness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Archive for April 4, 2008

Sanders on King’s death


Star-Telegram’s columnist Bob Ray Sanders was a college student 40 years ago when Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was shot on a hotel balcony in Memphis, TN. In an article published today by Star-Telegram, a Forth Worth based Newspaper, Sanders makes the following observation,

The sting of that news has never completely left my heart. Just the thought of that thunderous voice being silenced still brings tears to my eyes and a chill to my soul. There’s no doubt the nation has come along way since then, but based on the constant reactions and overreactions to race in this country, I certainly can’t say that we’ve reached the promise land

40 years ago, Martin Luther King Jr, prophetically pronounced “I May NOT Get There With you,” in fact, he did not.

Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the promised land. And I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord

. — Martin Luther King Jr., April 3, 1968, Memphis

Scriptural Reading

4 Make me to know your ways, O Lord;
teach me your paths.
5 Lead me in your truth and teach me,
for you are the God of my salvation;
for you I wait all the day long.
6 Remember your mercy, O Lord, and your steadfast love,
for they have been from of old.
7 Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions;
according to your steadfast love remember me,
for the sake of your goodness, O Lord!

– Ps. 25:4-7